Our Daily Sykes #335 – Brucknerian Clouds

Here’s a familiar landscape in which the parts, the dark islands and roiling clouds, suggest a musical notation, a picturesque analogy for staffs of notes written across a page, with bass and treble clefs building a counterpoint of answering sounds like a Bruckner symphony – any of the eleven.   Today I listened to all in order and continuous.  So much hearing may also encourage seeing so.  Look there, right of center, its the opening to the fourth and final movement, Bewegt, feurig, of Bruckner’s Symphony No. 1 in C minor, the 1877 Linz version, as played by the Bavarian Radio Symphony in concert, 1999, Lorin Maazel conducting.

2 thoughts on “Our Daily Sykes #335 – Brucknerian Clouds”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s